2021-06-06: Join us for the Out to Innovate 2021 Awards Celebration

You are invited to join the Out to Innovate Awards Celebration on Saturday, July 31, 4-6pm Eastern. This virtual event will celebrate the recipients of the 2021 Out to Innovate Recognition Awards, the 2020 Ben Barres Fellowships, and the 2021 Out to Innovate Scholarships. Tonia Poteat, one of our first Out to Innovate Scholarship recipients, will be the keynote speaker. In addition to the awards ceremony and keynote address, there will be opportunites to network and socialize. The event is free, but registration is required. Follow this link to register for this event.

More information about the honorees:

2021 Out to Innovate Recognition Awardees:

  • Danielle Cherniak, Walt Westman Award
  • Joseph Romano, LGBTQ+ Scientist of the Year
  • Guillermo Díaz-Fañas, LGBTQ+ Engineer of the Year
  • Miles Ott, LGBTQ+ Educator of the Year

2020 Ben Barres Fellowship Recipients

  • Stephanie Nelli, Post-Doctoral Fellow at Oxford University
  • Esti Blanco-Elorrieta, Post-Doctoral fellow in Psychology at Harvard University
  • Kat Ellis-Guardiola, Post-Doctoral Researcher at the University of California, Los Angeles
  • Vivian Miranda, Postdoctoral /Research Associate at the Steward Observatory of the University of Arizona
  • Claudia Astorino, graduate student at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York (CUNY), in affiliation with the New York Consortium in Evolutionary Primatology
  • Tran Thanh Tam Pham, graduate student at Dalhousie University
  • Toby Santamaria, graduate student at Michigan State University
  • Anita Simha, graduate student at Duke University
  • Simón(e) Sun, graduate student at New York University
  • Eliot Halley Vrijmoet, graduate student at Georgia State University Department

2021 Out to Innovate Scholarship Recipients

  • Out to Innovate Scholarships: Amelia Leon, Zach Huit, Kaylin Moss, Emily Sanchez, Cindy Phan, Shawn Bryant, funded by Motoroa Solutions Foundation (grant received 2020)
  • Amy A. Ross Scholarship in Bioscience: LaVinia Ray
  • InPhi Scholarship: Suhas Prameel, funded by an InPhi grant received in 2020
  • Avangrid Scholarship: Zahara Spilka, Kara Lindstrom, Claire Love, Art Hamilton, Jeremy Fertig, Jon Siemon
  • BHE Foundation CARES Scholarship: Alexandra Loyot, Jada Cannon, Alexander Stewart, Aziz Dridi, Margaret D’Auria
  • SPEEA ACE Scholarship: Elliot Khilfeh